Roanoke Receives Seventh All-America City Award

Roanoke earned a seventh All-America City Award – the only location to do that – from the National Civic League. The award recognizes communities for civic engagement to help more young children from low-income families achieve grade-level reading proficiency and early school success.

Read more >

Grant is Good News

woodhaven property roanoke

Good news for the Western Virginia Regional Industrial Facility Authority.   
An Economic Development Growth Enhancement (EDGE) grant of $20,000 from Appalachian Power Company will help the authority take one more step toward making its 106-acre Wood Haven site ready for a tenant. The grant will help fund environmental due diligence on the site as part of the overall master planning to begin soon. 
The property, owned jointly by Roanoke, Roanoke County, and Salem, helps fill the need for large sites for business and industry – a size that is currently missing in the regional inventory. The grant was the largest awarded in Virginia by Appalachian Power which also awarded $10,000 to Roanoke County for the Roanoke County Center for Research and Technology.  
John Hull, director of market intelligence for the Roanoke Regional Partnership, wrote the grant application on behalf of the authority.

Region Earns High Marks from Southern Business & Development

Virginia Western mechatronicsSouthern Business & Development had plenty of praise for the Roanoke Region in its annual “Best of Economic Development in Virginia” feature this month. The magazine ranked state assets in 30 categories.

Here’s a look at places that made the list:

  • Virginia’s Best Community Colleges for Workforce Training: Virginia Western Community College (pictured: mechatronics lab)
  • Best Tech Hubs in Virginia: Roanoke
  • Best Data Center Locations in Virginia: Roanoke County
  • Best Locations for Biosciences in Virginia: Roanoke
  • Virginia’s Best Large Market Economic Development Agencies: Roanoke Regional Partnership
  • Best Places to Retire in Virginia: Roanoke
  • Virginia’s Best Sporting Events: Virginia Tech football
  • Best Three Restaurants in Virginia: Alexander’s (Roanoke)